11.06.19 / AWDA / 2019 Jury Announced!


AIAP, the Italian Association of Visual Communication Design, in partnership with ico-D, the International Council of Design, are pleased to announce the prestigious composition of the fourth edition's jury of AWDA (AIAP Women in Design Award), the first world Award dedicated to women working in the field of visual communication design.

The AWDA 2019 edition's jury is composed of influential and internationally recognized personalities: Alice Rawsthorn, writer and design critic; Justus Oehler, AGI member, Alliance Graphique Internationale and Pentagram Berlin; Nilam P Moeliono, ADGI Honorary member, the Indonesian Association of Graphic Designers and brand expert; Maria Sætre, Grafill Board member, the Norwegian Association for Visual Communication and Making Waves design leader; Marco Tortoioli Ricci, AIAP President, professor and visual communication designer; Laura Moretti, AWDA curator, professor and visual communication designer.

The jury will select the best-applied works in the Professional and Students Categories, then will assign the AIAP Women in Design Award 2019 and the honourable mentions among the participants in all categories. A parallel panel of judges, equally authoritative, will evaluate the works of the PhD, Researchers and Teachers Category. This jury will be composed by Italian University professors and design critics with international experience, as follows: Raimonda Riccini, full professor of Design Theory and History at IUAV University of Venice; Melania Gazzotti, freelance editor and art historian; Gianluca Camillini, visual designer, educator and researcher in the field of visual communication and co-director of «Progetto grafico», the magazine edited by AIAP; Francesco E. Guida, assistant professor, School of Design, Politecnico di Milano and AIAP board member; Cinzia Ferrara, AWDA curator, Past President AIAP, and assistant professor, Department of Architecture, University of Palermo.

AWDA includes mentions, for each of the three categories of participation, and a special award to the career or "in memory of", assigned by the AWDA curators Cinzia Ferrara, Laura Moretti, Carla Palladino and Daniela Piscitelli.
The Special Lifetime Achievement Award is addressed to women designers who have distinguished themselves in their career both for their professional achievements or for having made a significant contribution to the design culture.

The official AWDA Gala will take place in Rome on November 8th, 2019.

Back to News

Posted By