21.06.18 / Australian Design Honours / Recognition for dedication to design

Australian Design Honours Recognition for dedication to design

Australian Design Centre (ADC) tonight honours ten outstanding individuals for their achievements and contributions to the design sector.

The Australian Design Honours program was launched 2015 to recognise the leading lights of designers, thinkers, and makers. The program is dedicated to promoting and advocating for Australian contemporary craft and design on the world stage.

The Australian Design Honours program includes luminaries such as fashion designer Akira Isogawa, Louise Olsen and Stephen Ormandy of Dinosaur Designs, celebrated architect Glen Murcutt AO and creative advocate Sydney's Lord Mayor Clover Moore.

Lisa Cahill, CEO and Artistic Director said, "The Australian Design Honours program is our way of shining a spotlight on the people who make an outstanding contribution to contemporary craft and design."

The ten new Australian Design Honourees are:

David Clark for his passionate support for Australian interior design.

Sacha Coles for his work with Aspect Studios to make the urban environment liveable and accessible.

Multi-disciplinary designer Emma Elizabeth for her support for Australian designers by providing a platform for many to show at Milan Design Week.

Professor Ross Harley is recognised for his work as Dean of UNSW Art and Design educating a new generation of creatives.

Designer Mark Harrison is an alumnus of WORKSHOPPED and recognised for his approach to sustainable design and the creation of bio-composite materials.

Trent Jansen for the exceptional scholarship he brings to his design practice that deepens the experience of what Australian design can be.

Karen McCartney for her championing of Australian design through her writing and curatorial work.

Dolla Merrillees for her commitment to supporting Australian design through the Museum of Art and Applied Sciences and for the creation of the MAAS Centre of Fashion.

Kate Stokes is an alumnus of WORKSHOPPED and we honour her consistently original and innovative design work.

The Workshopped Team, Raymond Scott and Leanne Gibson for the enduring platform they have created to promote new Australian design.

Explore all of the Australian Design Honourees on the website here.

About Australian Design Centre
Australian Design Centre is a highly agile and adaptable organisation that has taken a leadership role in the contemporary craft and design sector since it first opened in 1965. ADC continues to act as a bridge between different communities in design, constantly evolving to keep at the leading edge of innovation and provides the interface between the design world and our audiences.

Media contact
For more information, images or interviews please contact Alix Fiveash, Communications and Partnerships Manager, Australian Design Centre on 02 9361 4555 or email alix@australiandesigncentre.com

Back to News

Posted By